Tags

, , , , , ,

In Nov/Dec last year, I learned that three close friends were pregnant and all due in spring. By January, when I began jotting notes on what kinds of things I wanted to make for each of these new babies, I realized I definitely didn’t have enough acrylic yarn (always machine washable for little ones, I wouldn’t want new parents to feel obligated to hand wash anything). You know where this is going!

Screen Shot 2017-08-10 at 3.40.43 PM

Once the holidays were over and my new semester had settled into a semblance of routine, I made a huge knitpicks.com order (getting mostly Brava Sport) and started crocheting.

Over the next few days I’ll be posting the gifts I sent off to each of those three babies and then also something I sent to a fourth baby I learned about in May, this one due any day now to a former grad school professor of mine…

….and of course there’s also something I’m working on for another good friend whose little boy is due soon… more on that once I’ve finished and mailed it off.

…oh, and because I posted a partial picture of that project online, a family friend has asked if I might make his new grandson something similar…

In the midst of all these baby presents, I haven’t had the time or energy to work on much else in terms of crochet or plan out what to make next. (Oh, but some of the pink yarn from my January order was for hats for grown ups, one of my aunts in particular… 😼)

Given the way this year’s been going, I’m sure that as soon as I’m about to finish these next two sets of gifts, someone else will reveal their due date and I’ll have more projects automatically added to my list.

Good thing I got lots more baby-weight acrylic yarn from my Grandma when I visited her last month!

