Tags

, , , ,

Gene and I went to visit my extended family four times last fall, and each time my aunt and uncle were kind enough to host us for a night or two. When a series of unplanned events interrupted my aunt’s birthday last December, such that she had to bring a cake to Christmas dinner to ensure that we did something for the occasion, we realized that something MUST be done.

Aunt Mary has a delightful kitten that we’ve enjoyed playing with immensely on our visits, so we picked her up a little calico cat keychain.
kitten 4

Once we got back, I found the perfect crochet project waiting in my queue for her.

Pattern: Feather and Fan Scarf (free on Ravelry)
Yarn: Pauline Denham Tulare (last seen on my Grandpa’s scarf (Christmas 2011) and my dad’s hat (Christmas 2012)) It’s all used up now and I’m happy with each project this vintage, gorgeous yarn went into.

Looking a bit underwhelming while I worked on it,

blocking brought out everything wonderful about the stitch pattern and yarn.
DSCN9355

I’m so happy she got it in the mail yesterday and loves it!
DSCN9359

