Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Gene and I will be visiting his extended family in China in early January, thanks to his parents’ generosity. Looking to make a good impression, I realized that my winter accessories, made haphazardly over the years, don’t match each other at all.

So, in the name of consistency, I now have a winter accessory set.
DSCN9066

Knitted-look Headband by Classic Inez
25-26-223T Crochet Mittens by Pierrot (Gosyo Co., Ltd) (direct link to pattern pdf)
Topsy Turvy Cowl by Rebecca Averill (Ravelry Link)

This red wool has made a few appearances on this blog over the years. It was featured in my yarn winding & washing post. A little bit of it went into these baby gifts. I earmarked it for a hood that didn’t quite work out (part 1, part 2).

Aside from the yarn itself, the pieces are united by dependence on front post double crochet and back post double crochet stitches. Using these stitches results in thicker, stretchier fabric that also looks somewhat like knitting. I really like wearing all these together. I think they add a much needed brightness to the dreariness of December.

