Tags

, ,

One of our most prized kitchen possessions is the pizza stone because it makes such deliciousness possible:
IMG_8943

Gene has making thin crust pizzas, using flour tortillas as a crust, down to a tasty art and a science. When we’re more in the mood for a thick crust, I’m invited into the kitchen to collaborate with him. I make and roll out the dough. He then layers all kinds of toppings together and pops the preheated pizza stone back into a 475˚F oven for roughly fifteen minutes. Fantastic.

I’m not sure why it’s never happened before this last pizza-making evening, but the enameled trivet started to melt itself onto the bottom of the very hot stone. It came off with a light tug, but presented a real problem to future uses of the stone.

That is, until I solved the problem with crochet!

IMG_8964

Just earlier that afternoon, I’d been wondering what to do with two smallish balls of lavender wool that I do not prefer. Wool ignites at 600˚C, far far hotter than the temperature the stone reaches in the oven. In short order, I made a flower potholder, following this pattern, and now our trivets are safe again! Yes, it singes, but it won’t burn and should singe less as the stray strands of wool burn off and the potholder felts.

The following day, I made a quick open mesh rectangle because Gene figured out what he wanted to do with all these button pins we somehow acquired and found again while unpacking. Based on the idea of my earring holders, he took a thrifted picture frame, cut out a hole in it, and used some serious hardware to tack my mesh across the opening.

IMG_8963

Another success!

IMG_8962

Crochet isn’t just for making winter scarves/hats/mittens and cute dinosaurs!

