Tags

, ,

It’s been a very long time since I’ve posted about what I make in the kitchen, rather than what I make out of yarn. Reason being that for the year we lived abroad, our kitchen consisted of a two burner stove (with one burner that was finicky about staying on), a bread machine, and a rice cooker. Not bad, but not inspiring one to new heights of cooking prowess either.

Although, to be fair, I did make a pretty decent chocolate cake in the bread machine once.

Anyway! We had a small housewarming party over the weekend. Originally, it seemed we might have as many as fifteen guests, so I spent two afternoons in the kitchen, cooking up a storm, making such things as:

Roasted Red Pepper Dip

Avocado Lime Hummus – once upon a time there was a base recipe for this, but I make it now mostly by taste, rather than measurements.

Vegan(ish) Brownies – “ish” because I use processed sugar instead of raw and regular chocolate chips, rather than the kind that eschews milk solids.

Spiced Pear Muffins

2 loaves of No-knead Whole Wheat Bread (I have this recipe saved on my computer and I’m not sure where I got it from originally, but here’s a blog that’s reposted it.)

Oh, and since we’ve returned to the land of 3-Buck-Chuck, I made three pitchers of sangria, which were again more done by taste rather than from a recipe. Careful, though! I mixed those together the night before the party and ended up a bit tipsy after about drinking the equivalent of half a glass of wine while making adjustments.

Supplies!
DSCN8938

The night of the party, only eight of our guests were able to make it. We finished almost all of the sangria, but had tons of food left over. So we’ve been eating a lot of whole wheat bread and dips the past two days. But here we are, Tuesday afternoon, and all that’s left is a heel of bread, a little hummus, and some brownies, so I don’t think anything’s actually gone to waste.

Time to get up from the desk and go pick up supplies for dinner. I think I’ll make Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple & Red Lentil Soup. Vetoed by Gene, who thinks it’s too similar to the Carrot, Lentil and Lemon stew I made on Friday. Black bean soup instead, I think.

What will you be having?

