Tags

, , , ,

Yesterday morning, before I’d even finished my mug of tea, Gene’s mom asked me if I’d make her friend’s new granddaughter, expected at the end of the month, some kind of baby present.

I assented, but lamented that my yarn stash was still buried in a box somewhere in their garage.

“Oh, not a problem, I have some yarn you can use!”

With that, she disappeared into the attic and returned with over $200US worth of cashmere, wool and alpaca yarn. The eighteen skeins bore both their original price stickers (between $10 and $20.50) and price the thift store she found them at wrote on the ball bands in marker – $2. So that’s $36 for the bag, although knowing her, she got an even better deal on the lot.

Such nice yarn for baby presents gives me great pause, but she insists.

It’s not that I don’t think babies deserve nice, squishy soft things to wear and play with. It’s that I don’t think exhausted new parents need woolen items with special care instructions – hand wash cold, reshape, lay flat to dry, do not wring, etc. That’s just cruel.

Gene says that once the gift is given, whether it’s treated well or ruined by washing isn’t my problem. But it is. If I invest hours in making something, I do want it to be useful and appreciated. I don’t want it to be a burden to wash, or something ruined the moment after the darling new granddaughter spits up on it and it’s thrown in the washing machine.

But never mind, I’ve been asked to use this yarn and so I shall do.

There’s a separate issue lurking in this lovely bag of yarn.

This beautiful stuff was never used by its owner and someone who didn’t know its value donated it to a rummage sale/thrift store.

I can’t let the lovely yarns in my stash end up the same way someday. They should be used.

Maybe like “Open That Bottle Night” for wines saved for “someday,” we in the fiber crafting world need to have a “Use That Yarn Project” once a year to ensure the special yarns don’t end up unused and unappreciated thanks to our over appreciation.

