Tags

, , , , ,

Pattern: none
Recipient: Grant

I’m rapidly running out of crocheted items to make for my brother. He has two hats, two scarves, a pair of mittens, and a companion cube already, so what’s left?

Fingerless gloves. I have some lovely recycled cashmere along with me, so I didn’t need to go out and buy any yarn. But plain single crocheted gloves seemed so boring.

Grant is a chemist. In 2012, he was listed among the co-authors on his first published journal paper for synthesizing some new molecules. I figured out which molecules he was responsible for making and stitched them, inexpertly, onto the back of each hand. Hence the name.

IMG951370

How did I do with the molecules? Grant says, “as best as could be rendered in 2D in thread.” I’ll take that as success!

