Tags

, , , ,

I’m attending a baby shower tomorrow afternoon, so when the announcement came out a couple weeks ago, I started thinking of what baby-sized things would be interesting to make so soon after the last set.

With all my worsted weight acrylic committed to the granny square blanket madness, I looked through the few balls of DK weight acrylic in my stash for this baby present and came back with an orangey-red yarn as the most promising color. The parents, director of a center on campus and her husband, did something wonderful in their Amazon registry for the shower – it’s not at all clear whether they’re expecting a boy or girl.

Considering the last time I saw them, it was at an interdepartment Halloween party and they were dressed as two members of the Village People – she was the construction worker, he was the biker – I’m not too surprised. I think tomorrow’s shower will be a lot of fun.

First, I made a pair of booties from a pattern I found on Pinterest. You can find the pattern as a free Ravelry download here.

It was when I started to work on a hat to match that inspiration struck. This color hat begged for fox ears.

I spent some time looking at pictures of foxes online and exploring my stash of yarn. Some odd nubbly white my grandma gave me after someone gave it to her, which has been sitting ignored in my stash because I have no idea what to do with it, ended up being fantastic for the fuzzy inner ears. I had black Caron Simply Soft (which claims to be worsted weight, but isn’t) left over from something else. The whole thing turned out so well that it’s another gift I’m really excited about giving to someone. I love it!

Bonkers, however, begs to differ.

