Tags

, , , ,

Happy new year, all!

I was pretty silent for December because I worked on presents for much of it and didn’t want to spoil any surprises. I’ll play catch up over the next week or two.

Upon my arrival back home, I learned that family friend Tim would be joining us for Christmas. Last year my brother painted him a series of canvasses, so this time it was my turn to contribute something handmade. Since Tim lives in the north east of the island, up where winters are cold, damp and awful, the first thing I made him was a hat from a pattern called Reversible Strands. This is a really great pattern and I like both sides!

The blue yarn I bought at a local stationery/craft store for ~2 USD (that store sends me into raptures of craft inspiration, don’t even get me started). It called itself A&S Paint Hornbil (yes, one l, not two) and is a 50% wool/50% acrylic mix. Fantastically soft, but a bit too splitty for me to consider buying more. The grey came from the 75% acrylic/ 25% wool that I brought with me to finish Grant’s long overdue companion cube (subject of a future post).

I also bought some tiny balls of craft acrylic for ~1 USD a piece, googly eyes, blue felt and superglue. Tim studies literature, particularly horror genres, so one evening while sitting at the kitchen table chatting with my father, I free-handed a zombie.

I can say without a doubt that this is the cutest thing I have ever made.

Did you make or get anything handmade this Christmas?

