Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday, on a whim, I decided to dye the front panel of the sweater with blue and green food coloring before settling down to unraveling it.

Here it is before dyeing:

I added 40 drops of blue dye and 10 drops of green dye, thinking, after it mixed, that it would give me something of a blue-green. As I learned, apparently I need to stir the pot a lot more before adding the cloth.

Because this is what I ended up with:

I’m not saying I’m unhappy with how this turned out. This is a learning process, after all. I’m surprised that what I thought was a lot of coloring ended up being so light. Also, that even though the ratio between blue and green was 4:1, the green dominated.

I’d like to dye it once more. Not hoping for a solid color, but I’d like to get more coverage of the white spots and darken the existing color. I’m going to stick to one color of dye this time.

So what do you think? More green or more blue?

