Tags

, , , , , ,

When I made those mojito cupcakes for the green party two weeks ago, I cheated a little on the color. Yes, I added two drops of food coloring to the frosting as I mixed it, giving it a slight unnatural tint. It seemed a bit silly at the time to buy a box of four food colorings when I only needed two drops, but you see, I had plans.

Food coloring works to dye wool in the same way that koolaid does, you just need to add vinegar for the acidic component. I dyed one ball with a ton of green dye, which came out a vivid kelly green.

Since drops of koolaid give me the chance to place color more precisely, and because I realized my entire stash of yarn is composed of monochromes, I made a green-blue skein. With this one, I put some drops of blue and green into the bottom of the pot, not stirring to mix, and then dropped the yarn in. Then I dripped blue and green on top of the uncolored yarn at the top of the pot, put on the cover, and left it until everything absorbed.

Can you see the patches of color in this incredibly blurry picture?

While watching an episode of a BBC murder mystery last night, I worked all but the last yard of this skein into a lacy scarf. These single ball color experiments are a good way of making me come up with one skein projects, at the very least.

This afternoon, I steam blocked it to bring out the stitch definition. See how the unblocked section on the left side is all bunchy, and the side stretched on pins shows the shell pattern clearly?

This is how it looks now – a bright spot of color in the summer sun, soon to be my bright spot of color against the autumn’s grays.

And, of course, when I put it down on the floor to block and came back later, Gossy had already decided it should be hers.

