Tags

, , ,

From Filet Crochet and How to Use It, copyright 1917, by Augusta Pfeuffer of New Braunfels, Texas:

I chose the pattern at the upper right for its simplicity and repetitiveness. Also because it looked a bit like trailing leaves and I’d love some of those right about now. I even bought a pattern book a couple of weeks ago mostly for an amazing looking lace of branching leaves.

Although I started out not really knowing what I’d do with the finished product, I soon decided on making it into a headband. Long enough to be useful but not so long as to become onerous.

I’m a bit disappointed at how even with a size 9 steel hook, the lace looks bulky and the pattern doesn’t stand out very well. Should I find something thinner than size 10 crochet cotton thread? Not any time soon, certainly.

