Tags

, , , ,

Thursday afternoon I trudged off to class through the snow craving baked goods (more on why another day, I’d like the letter in which I describe the story to get to its recipient before I post it here and ruin the effect). I had carrots in the bottom of the fridge that I’d bought for vegetable stew and hadn’t gotten around to using yet – they were surprisingly still crisp after nearly two weeks down there.

I began with a recipe I found online called “Best Carrot Cake Ever” which I poked and prodded until I came up with this:

3 cups shredded carrot (although, I might have accidentally added an extra cup. I am not the most conscientious of bakers)
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/2 cup white sugar
1 tsp vanilla
2 tsp cinnamon
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour
1 1/2 tsp baking soda

I greased the muffin tin with butter and filled the cups pretty much to the top. In the end, I had about 4 muffins worth of the leftover batter, which I poured into a greased pyrex circular dish (6″ diameter?) to make a small cake (or as Gene thought, a giant mutant muffin). The muffins baked for 30-40 minutes at 350F, while the small cake baked about 10 minutes longer.


Some recipe calorie calculator gave me this nutritional information, which makes them sound more like health food than dessert. Rest assured, however, I bought a tiny block of cream cheese and frosted the mini cake the next day. Mmmmmm.

